Expertise and determinism

If this thing was destined to happen, whether I call it my mission or refer to myself as a necessary cog for the world to function properly, it's all just a word game.

Expertise and determinism
Photo by Shubham Dhage / Unsplash

When I encounter something I find difficult to understand or hard to do, I often find it intriguing and dedicate energy to figuring out how to understand and do it. However, once I've actually accomplished it and gained a certain level of expertise, my interest in 'how to do it' decreases, and 'how this thing relates to the functioning of the world' becomes more important.

The more time I spend thinking about how this thing relates to the world's functioning, the clearer I see the attributes and patterns of this thing as a 'phenomenon' in the world, along with the macro laws that govern the existence of such phenomenon.

The more I recognize these attributes, patterns, and macro laws, the more I realize that many of the 'choices' I made in the past, although seemingly based on free will, are actually nothing more than a beautiful illusion under the macro laws. If this thing was destined to happen, whether I call it my mission or refer to myself as a necessary cog for the world to function properly, it's all just a word game.